Color and Value

Image

© Loralee Chapleau
Value/Color Sketch

 

Today I did another value exercise. This time my goal was to bring color to one of my previous sketches, while trying to remain true to the original value plan.  I took a photo of the color painting in black and white to see how I did.

Image

© Loralee Chapleau
Value/Color Sketch B&W

 

Some of my dark areas became a bit too light. Likewise, adding color to the lightest areas made them a bit darker. Over all, this means the painting does not have as much contrast as the original sketch. Therefore, I find it a bit less dynamic than my original black and white. This gives me motivation to continue working with value to improve my paintings.

Leave a Reply

