Wine Series

Wine 2 ©Loralee Chapleau 16 x 12

Wine 2
©Loralee Chapleau
16 x 12

 

This is the second painting in my Wine Series for the restaurant, Mangia Mi. Once again, I was perplexed and challenged by the limitless options provided by my imagination. Working in the studio with free rein is a much different experience for me than when I paint plein air. When I am painting in plein air I take my cues from the scene. Although I may interpret or enhance the colors, they still come from what I see. This is a whole different animal.

I started the painting with this sketch.

Wine 2 Sketch ©Loralee Chapleau

Wine 2 Sketch
©Loralee Chapleau

 

I could have gone just about anywhere from here.

I decided to use a very limited palette. I did this for harmony. Also, with all of the visual texture, I didn’t want the painting to be too busy. As I was working, the background became quite dark and moody. I thought this worked for the painting.  I wanted the wine bottles to have a certain luminosity. The dark background helped me achieve that.

I wonder what colors I would choose if I were to repaint it today? Perhaps I could do an Andy Warhol thing?  You know,  paint it in a variety of color combinations. Hmm…I wonder if I would stay engaged or if painting the same composition would get old quickly?

Leave a Reply

