The Good, the Bad, & the Ugly

Our Plein Air group got rained out last week, or should I say rained in? A few of us headed indoors to do some figure painting. It was great fun, and a nice change from the landscape. On the last few paintings, I focused on the face. Here are my results.

IMG_5745

Cowboy 1
©Loralee Chapleau
20×16

 

Cowboy 2
©Loralee Chapleau
14×11

 

Cowboy 3 ©Loralee Chapleau 20x16

Cowboy 3
©Loralee Chapleau
20×16

 

I really enjoyed letting loose with expressive brush strokes and color. My aim was not to try to paint an exact likeness of the model, but rather to capture a gesture. It was almost like creating a character. As for my three amigos here, I like to call them the Good, the Bad, & the Ugly. Can you guess which one is which?

One thought on “The Good, the Bad, & the Ugly

Leave a Reply

