30 Paintings in 30 Days Challenge!

I hope you are doing better with your New Year’s resolutions than I am. I signed up for Leslie Saeta’s 30 Paintings in 30 Days Challenge and I am already one day behind. Not to worry! I will post 2 paintings today.

Vineyard Portrait Study 1 ©Loralee Chapleau 12x9

Vineyard Portrait Study 1
©Loralee Chapleau
12×9

 

In this study I am experimenting with Arches Oil Painting Paper. Painting on paper definitely has a different feel to it than painting on canvas or board. When using thin washes of color it seems to drink up the paint a bit, but the colors remain very vibrant. The first application has the appearance of an intensely rich water color.  Although the feel is not as smooth,  thick brush strokes of paint rest nicely on the surface. I am also very pleased that the paper doesn’t warp or buckle.  So far, so good!

If you would like to learn more about the challenge or the oil painting paper, here are some links.

http://lesliesaeta.blogspot.com/

http://www.jerrysartarama.com/DOWNLOADS/PDFs/Arches%20Oil%202%20Sided%20Tip%20Sheet.pdf

2 thoughts on “30 Paintings in 30 Days Challenge!

  1. Love the Sweep of this Arched Painting. 30 paintings in 30 days ~ Challenging but I’m excited to see what you come up with.

    • Thanks Claudette. The goal of the challenge is to paint more frequently. Even if I can’t manage to do all 30 of the paintings, I am hoping I will gain from the experience. You know what the say, each painting is preparing you for the next!

Leave a Reply

