My Green Sea

Cliffs Hwy 1 ©Loralee Chapleau 24x36

Cliffs Hwy 1
©Loralee Chapleau
24×36

I am primarily a plein air painter. I love being outside, painting on location. It allows me to be immersed in the moment, and to really get the feel of a place. Due to the nature of plein air, I often have to paint on smaller canvases. I like the impact that a larger painting can have, so I have been using my smaller plein air pieces as inspiration for larger paintings.

When I painted this from a smaller plein air piece, I could easily recall the rhythmic sound of the waves, the cool ocean breeze cutting across my face, and the smell of salt in the air. All of that memory and feeling went into the creation of this painting. I hope that some of those sensations come through to the viewer.

Leave a Reply

